Friday, March 13, 2009

The Forgotten Warrior





The Forgotten Warrior
By Kathi Oram Peterson
Covenant Communications, 2009


Review by Heather Moore

Sixteen-year-old Sydney Morgan—a black belt in Karate—is unexpectedly transported to the land of Zarahemla. Dressed in her “strange” karate clothing, she is mistaken for a boy and thought to be a spy. Sydney has landed in the middle of Captain Helaman’s camp—where they are preparing for battle with the Lamanites. When Sydney finally earns Helaman’s trust, she is asked to help train the warriors to fight. As she tries to remember exactly what the result of the upcoming battle will be, Sydney finds herself liking chief warrior Tarik. But it seems doomed from the start as Sydney is caught between two worlds—with no answers in sight.

A fast-paced YA novel, this book relives the account of the stripling warriors in a unique way. Sydney and Tarik are strong and lively characters, set in one of the most volatile eras of the Book of Mormon. Adults and young adults alike will enjoy The Forgotten Warrior. A fun and engaging read, this book will especially appeal to fans of Chris Heimerdinger and Sariah Wilson.

The story seemed to end abruptly with several loose ends to be tied up, setting up the book for an obvious sequel. According to the author’s website, the next installment will be released Fall 2009.

5 comments:

Kathi Oram Peterson said...

Thanks, Heather, for reading and reviewing my book. The book I have coming out in the fall is not the sequel to The Forgotten Warrior. My publisher has book two, so it is up to them when and if it is released. An Angel on Main Street, which will be released in the fall of 2009, is a Christmas story. Thanks again.

Heather B. Moore said...

Oh, thanks for letting us know! We'll look forward to your next 2 books then :)

Anonymous said...

It is now 2013 and I read The Forgotten Warrior and I was left hanging by those very loose ends of this book..and have searched and inquired about a sequel..just today I sent a message to the publisher of this first book in hopes some answers about a sequel can be given. I hope I won't be left not knowing what happens to Syd and Tarik..that would be terrible!

Anonymous said...

I know my answer, so we'll have to wait and be patient :)

Anonymous said...

So?? Anonymous....What is your answer? Because I will be mine also. I'm hanging out in the wind with the end of Forgotten Warrior.